What Happened to Double-Tap to Switch Apps?

On my original Pixel phone, there are three software buttons at the bottom of the screen: back arrow; home; and recent apps. When I received my new Pixel 3 phone, I discovered that it has only two buttons: back; and home. The recent apps button is missing! I loved being able to double-tap the recent apps button to quickly switch apps, similar to alt-tab on Windows. Did Google really eliminate this feature?

Happily, no. The new gesture is to swipe right on the home button to access recent apps. A quick swipe-and-lift toggles to the most recent app. If you swipe right, hold it, and keep swiping, you can get further back through the recent-apps stack, without ever lifting your thumb.


If you found this helpful, you'd like to thank me, and you enjoy reading science fiction, consider buying my book! More info here.

comments powered by Disqus