How to View Bash On Ubuntu On Windows Files In File Explorer

The Short Answer

Run explorer.exe from the Linux directory where you want to view files:
explorer.exe .

Alternate Answer

From Windows Run dialog (Windows Key + R), open:
\\wsl$

From there, you can use File Explorer to navigate to the directory you're interested in.

Background

When the Windows Subsystem for Linux was incorporated into Windows 10, I was excited to finally have a better way to run a Bash shell within Windows. In particular, I found it to be the easiest way to set up a Ruby environment on Windows -- which I use to send FCM push notifications to my test Android device. When WSL was first introduced, however, it was challenging to interact with files in the Linux Subsystem via Windows File Explorer. I ended up using WSL for very little.

Since Windows 10's April 2019 update, this has been easy. You can read more about it in this blog post by Chris Hoffman, and get deeper into the specifics in the official Windows Command Line developers blog post. In my opinion, this makes Bash on Ubuntu on Windows significantly more usable for the average developer on Windows.

I mention this now because I'm in the midst of inhabiting my new ThinkPad P1 Gen 3 (which I love!), and was reminded of how much easier it is to migrate my Bash environment via File Explorer and OneDrive.

comments powered by Disqus