80 pages into a dream

A couple of months ago, I dreamt a world. Complete with rules, realms, and an overall feel that later reminded me of a cross between Brazil and Barry Yourgrau, with a major dose of Upload.

When I awoke from this dream, I had to write. Partially because it was an answer to my question, "What would it be like if we could live in a v-world scaled to the human experience?" And partially because I just couldn't get enough of it. I didn't want the dream to end.

Now, it's my next book. I'm 80 pages into it, and I think it has wonderful potential, both as a very personal story and as an indication of what lies ahead for humans in a post-singularity world.

Will biological humans have a place in the world after the singularity? Or will they be channeled off to an alternate reality, leaving Reality Prime to AI and post-humans?

If you enjoyed Upload for its imagination and character-driven story, you'll enjoy what I have brewing. Working title: "The Scapes".

comments powered by Disqus