How to Reassemble Whistle of OXO Uplift Kettle

The whistle on my beloved Anniversary Edition Uplift Tea Kettle came apart the other day. Three parts dropped from the lid and fell on the stove-top: a screw; a spring; and a metal plate that nests underneath the lid. How these parts were supposed to be attached to the lid wasn't immediately clear: where does the spring go? Does the spring go around the screw, or around the hole where the air flows out? Based on its size, it would fit in either location.

I asked the nice folks at OXO, and they gave me this response:

"Hi Mark! Great question -- the spring goes around the screw, but since the spring will not fit through the hole in the metal plate, you will need to sandwich the spring between the two metal pieces and then secure with the screw."

I went ahead and did this, and my whistle worked again. But the whistle seemed a little less loud than it was before. I went back for more help, and the recommendation from the OXO product manager was to loosen the screw a little. I did so, and it worked -- the whistle got a little louder! It isn't quite as loud as I would like, but it's back to where it was.

Here's the original tweet from OXO explaining how to reassemble the whistle:



If you found this helpful, you'd like to thank me, and you enjoy reading science fiction, consider buying my book! More info here.


comments powered by Disqus